Distinguished Environmental Professional Award

Each year the IWWSG’s Steering Committee awards a truly deserving environmental professional with the “Distinguished Environmental Professional Award”

Past Recipients

May 2000 Thomas McSwiggin

  Illinois EPA


May 2000 James T. Harrington

  McGuire Woods LLP


May 2001 Richard Lanyon



May 2002 James B. Parks

  Illinois EPA


May 2003 Ron Flemal

  Illinois Pollution Control Board


May 2006 Fred G. Krikau

  Acme Steel Company / Interlake


May 2007 Cecil Lue-Hing, D.Sc.



May 2008 Toby Frevert

  Illinois EPA


May 2009 Alan Jirik

  Corn Products International


May 2010 Suzanne Malec-McKenna   

 Chicago Department of Environment


Mar 2011 Howard Chinn

  Illinois Attorney General’s Office


Mar 2012 Robert S. Elvert

  Exxon Mobil Corporation


March 2013  Lee Botts

 Great Lakes Environmentalist


March 2014  Dr. Tanner Girard

Illinois Pollution Control Board


March 2015 Marcia Willhite

Illinois EPA


March 2015 Bill Compton
Caterpillar, Inc.


March 2016 Jean B. “Susie” Schreiber
Chair Waukegan Harbor Citizens Advisory Board


March 2016 Bharat Mathur
USEPA / Illinois EPA